Week 01: Choosing a Social Media Site.

I chose Facebook as my social media site of choice.

As a user of Facebook I engage in this site to keep in contact with my friends and family. Although I rarely log-on to this site because I do not like talking to people 24 hours a day, I do like being able to talk with the people when I need to, exchange photos, and keep up-to-date on the events in my family’s life.

I can connect with friends through instant messaging and games when I know they are online, so I don’t have to wait for them to respond to a comment, inbox message or notification. I connect only to friends and people that I know because I am very conscious of who I allow to see my personal information.  Because the site is so large and everyone is contributing personal information it is easy for one of your friends to disclose something you don’t want shared, such as phone numbers and addresses.

Example of the social networking - Facebook

Src: http://www.facebook.com/welcomeback/requests/
(Accessed 28/07/2012)

This is a site for everyone; any one in the world can create an account using their email address and set up a profile page. Facebook allows people with common interests and friends to find each other and connect instantly, and is excellent for maintaining long-distance relationships with loved ones. The site offers these people many ways to communicate as seen in Fred Cavazza’s Social Media Landscape, these include; games, content sharing, photo and video sharing. Other sites can be used in conjunction with Facebook to further facilitate connections between people; such as Flickr and YouTube.

References:
Cavazza, F. (2009, October 4). Social Media Landscape Redux. Retrieved August 1, 2012, from Fred Cavazza: http://www.fredcavazza.net/2009/04/10/social-media-landscape-redux/

Facebook. (2012). Retrieved July 28, 2012, from Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/

Leave a comment